29 October 2014

IANA Stewardship Transition, Report of ICG Conference Call October 29

The IANA Stewardship Transition Coordination Group (ICG) held its sixth conference call on Wednesday, 29 October 2014 from 12:00-13:00 UTC.

The sole item on the Agenda: Procurement of the Secretariat for the ICG

Secretariat candidates' identities were not disclosed, but there are two final candidates. Decision to be finalized on or before November 15, 2014.

Additional discussion concerned future calls and meetings (dates/times) and the uncertainty about the ICANN meeting in Marrakech. The ICG has handed off substantive IANA transition work to "three communities" (names, numbers, protocols) it maintains are the ones affected by the IANA Stewardship Transition via RFPs (Requests for Proposals) with a tight timeline in order to submit its final proposal to the ICANN Board of Directors for transmission to the US Department of Commerce's NTIA well before the "final deadline" of September, 2015.

Work has started in the "three communities"--e.g., IETF's (protocol parameters) latest draft is at: http://www.ietf.org/id/draft-ietf-ianaplan-icg-response-02.txt--but according to ICG member Keith Drazek (via chat window during the ICG call): "I would also point out that the Naming community is struggling with the January [15, 2015] target date for delivery, so scheduling should take that into account." 

The ICG timeline  originally indicated that the ICG would submit its proposal directly to the NTIA. Subsequently, the NTIA indicated that the proposal was to be submitted via the ICANN Board of Directors which has led to concerns that the ICANN Board may modify (or even reject) the final ICG proposal. During the conference call, ICG member Lynn St. Amour briefly discussed her draft of "ICG's expectations regarding the proposal submission" (excerpts below):

draft of  "ICG's expectations regarding the proposal submission"
                                     . . . .

draft of  "ICG's expectations regarding the proposal submission"

ICG Members participating:
Jean-Jacques Subrenat
Mary Uduma
Alissa Cooper
Hartmut Glaser
Manal Ismail
Keith Drazek
Lynn St. Amour
Adiel Akplogan
Jari Arkko
Joseph Alhadeff
Milton Mueller
Jon Nevett
Patrik Faltstrom
Michael Niebel
Thomas Schneider
Russ Housley
Wolf-Ulrich Knoben

Kuo-Wei Wu

ICG members not present/not participating:
Jandyr Dos Santos
Paul Wilson
Narelle Clark
Martin Boyle
Kavouss Arasteh
Mohamed El Bashir
Elise Gerich
James Bladel

Alice Jansen
Samantha Dickinson
Ergys Ramaj
Theresa Swinehart

More information about the ICG and the IANA Stewardship Transition: NTIA IANA Functions Stewardship Transition Microsite.

more news links below (on mobile go to web version link below)

expVC.com Domain Name News Archive

expVC.com on Twitter